Church cleaning and solitude  

May 23, 2015 at 1:51 pm Leave a comment

   Today was my first ‘go’ at cleaning my dear little church. There is a very organised rota and some people have been cleaning the house of The Lord for years. If we all take it in turns it’s only once or twice a year. 

My usual method of housework is sweeping the room with a glance having lived overseas for 20 years but God provides dusters, polish and a Hoover. 

There is something wonderfully calming being amongst ancient cool stonework. I am slightly in awe of the beauty of the Minton tiles lit by coloured sunlight which is pouring through the stained glass window by the altar. How many worshippers have knelt at the brass communion rail? Quite a few in the last week judging by the fingerprints! I remember my mother cleaning another church in my childhood; the Mothers Union rota. She will be smiling down to see me wielding a duster.

My work is done. Mental note to self to take my trusty Ewbank for the carpet next time it’s my turn.

Time for contemplation and prayer and yes, I sweep the nave with a glance as I leave quiet as a church mouse.  

Entry filed under: culture. Tags: , , , , , .

mobile recording 1466c68f8f0ceef51f3fe2d1cb60a9b8 20 Bank holiday Bedwyn circular walk

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

#slushpuppy #rolodogblog #rolodogblog here’s looking at you #underthexmastree #dogsofinsta #jrtsofinstagram Fabulous to see sheep in the field. #treaclebolly #rolodogblog spurs an egret Serling trout lunch at #stgeorgespreshute #rolodogblog looking for children who would like to read his books #dogsofinstagram #jrtsofinstagram #canineauthor #dogs #rolodogblog up on the Downs this frosty morning 🐶🐾

