My first weekend…by Rolo

June 19, 2012 at 9:47 pm 2 comments

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageWell what an exhausting and exciting life I’m leading. I say ‘lead’ because I’m still on one.  Way too excited to listen to many commands just yet but boy have I covered some Wiltshire miles and done some serious exploring. I’d never encountered long grass before….and a squirrel! If it wasn’t for the bloomin’ lead I would have been up the tree after it! I did get told off yesterday though because I’d been having too much fun romping through the undergrowth in my ladies garden and found something to play with. A fledgling blackbird. Only it didn’t want to play and seemed to play dead. Its angry parents are still shrieking at me when I go out into the garden today….the lady is ‘disappointed’ but she understands I am a hunter, and I think I am forgiven. I’ve been in a few pubs…Wadworth ones I hasten to add. The humans sit in the garden and drink long brown glassfuls of something and I sit quietly, tied to a chair leg, just within reach of an plastic tub of water. I’ve met a few other dogs on these adventures and am feeling much more sociable even though tethered. There is something under the decking in the back garden which needs more exploring. I think its a mouse. I can smell it but I can’t see it. I keep going outside to check it out.

Worn out by my long walks, I sleep a lot in the afternoon….the boy with the floppy hair complains that I’m so worn out when he wants to play when he comes home from school and throws his stuff down in the hallway. Just as well I don’t eat shoes I could have a field day with all his Size 8’s piled around the front door. I want to please him and I lie on his lap a lot. He hasn’t taken me for a walk yet. He’s playing cricket tonight and the lady says we’re going to watch and maybe I can be an outfielder. No one’s thrown a ball for me yet…I guess we’ll get to that. I’m beginning to ‘sit’ and respond to my name – unless I’m on a scent of course – then I have selective hearing. The lady gets cross but forgives me as I’ve not really had any formal training before.

I’m trying very hard to be a good boy at night. They put me out in the garden for a last minute check on the secret underground mouse and I’m too excited to wee…I whine a bit when they shut me in the kitchen and it all goes dark and quiet when they cross the barricade. I confess I have made a couple of little puddles when they don’t let me out at 0600 when I wake up. (The lady said the kitchen floor is sparkling and never been so mopped!) They must take me out on my lead last thing before bed…I will try to please.

Right, off to play a bit of cricket…..

Rolo signing off….TTFN

Entry filed under: Rolo. Tags: .

The world according to Rolo Dog before Wicket…..According to Rolo

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather Orange  |  June 20, 2012 at 4:52 am

    Rolo you have the most adorable sweet face. Hope you enjoy meeting Mrs Gorsuch this week. x

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. debievans  |  June 20, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      yes I loved her and just blogged about her…can’t wait to meet you too xx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates


