how green was my stairwell?

February 2, 2012 at 11:03 pm Leave a comment

Dried green paint

Image via Wikipedia

I had forgotten how much I hate decorating and honestly how useless I am at it. Probably because the men in my life starting with my Dad, have never let me do it. I was delighted when my sons painted my lounge whilst I was away for the weekend. Seeing the paintbrushes out, upon my return, I searched the 20 paint tins under the stairs for the green to cover the scuff marks on the hall wall going upstairs…about hand height. The stairwell is dark. It was a dull day. There were 5 shades of green. I’m making excuses. I picked the one I thought looked right, and gaily painted stripes all over the scuff marks. Even though the paint looked light, I carried on regardless, thinking it would dry darker and blend to the original colour. How wrong I was! Back under the stairs then, rummaging with the leftover paint. None of the green pots are the right shade of green.  Trying to blend in my mistake I painted the bottom third of the wall with the offending lighter green. It looked ridiculous, especially as my skills with a paintbrush are nonexistent. Up and down? side to side? it’s like brushing teeth isn’t it? Off to B & Q then…where I was.faced with varying shades of green to inspire different moods, with thoughtful names like ‘willow tree’ and ‘ocean ripple’. Too scared to buy a litre of the wrong green and the prospect of having to paint the whole stairwell (surely a ladder job!) I picked a match pot of  ‘putting green’ and brought it home and nervously painted a stripe , with my eyes closed. Hurrah! it blended perfectly….now to go back to the store and buy a tin….if only I’d bought the matchpot to blend in the scuffs in the first place I could have saved all this palava……I forbid myself to pick up another decorating brush after I’ve put the stairs to right….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Kennet rising garden birds snub B&Q birdfood!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Instagram

#slushpuppy #rolodogblog #rolodogblog here’s looking at you #underthexmastree #dogsofinsta #jrtsofinstagram Fabulous to see sheep in the field. #treaclebolly #rolodogblog spurs an egret Serling trout lunch at #stgeorgespreshute #rolodogblog looking for children who would like to read his books #dogsofinstagram #jrtsofinstagram #canineauthor #dogs #rolodogblog up on the Downs this frosty morning 🐶🐾

