Bin woes

January 16, 2012 at 9:15 pm Leave a comment

Kerbside collection bins in Dunedin, New Zeala...

Image via Wikipedia

Being recently repatriated in the UK after a long exile I am a very obedient and willing council tax payer and I conform to Wiltshire Councils requests to fill my 4 colour coded bins with cardboard and plastic bottles (blue bin), garden waste (green bin) glass, cans and newspapers (small black box) and general household rubbish (tall black bin which must be closed or they will leave me a sticky label telling me off)…the latter is only collected every fortnight. I imagine the Council’s plan is to encourage us to sort our rubbish more to reduce, recycle etc…none of this I have a problem with. I obey; rinsing my cartons, milk bottles, flattening my cardboard sleeves…all as requested.

We, the householders, neatly line up our bins on the appointed day at the correct time (not before 0600), at the top of our drives, not obstructing the pavement. Why oh why then when we return to our homes later in the day, are the bins casually abandoned on the pavement or even worse, strewn in the road.

Grrrrrrr. Right thats it, I have vented my spleen…back to sorting my rubbish, sorry, household waste.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

London adventure and Nutcracker Cardiff Capers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates


