Back in Blighty….forgot to pack sunshine

June 19, 2011 at 1:01 pm 4 comments

Arriving at Gatwick yesterday morning I was disappointed not to see the Bruce Forsyth lookalike ground staff smiley face who has greeted me at the airplane door for the last 20 years. Perhaps he has retired…or maybe he doesn’t work on Saturdays! Not an auspicious start. Car rental at Gatwick North Terminal has finally moved from its long temporary exile on level 5 of the multi storey carpark. Now you do the paperwork in the terminal (via lift) and then walk through to claim your car from the carpark on the same level. It always amused and scared me that anyone picking up a hire car from the 5th floor of a multistorey first had to tackle a dizzying continuous spiral before reaching the relative straight haven of the M23. This time I managed to negotiate a low mileage car as it a little tiresome to have the car re-called half way through the rental for service, which happens every year.

When I last came over to Green and Pleasant during April for a fleeting but worthwhile trip to the London Book Fair, I was completely undone by abundant cherry blossom in the streets of the Capital. (See tulip picture from Embankment Gardens below) I tore myself away when the bluebells were just coming out, daffodils had finished and the trees sticky buds were bursting with verdant new growth. I somehow thought the weather would be on hold for these past 2 months and arrived in a summer dress, with a suitcase full of similar garments. Its a tad cold, damp and yes I confess first thing I did when I got home – put the heating on to take the chill off!

All said, its fantastic to be home – a quick tour of the garden and yes the wild strawberries are waiting to garnish my museli, the mint is flourishing (hurrah – fresh mint in my tea!), my dragon statue who guards the house positively beamed at me (yes he really is called Snap!)

Having slept incredibly well, and unusally for me, slept in til 8 (no dog to wake me here!) it’s a blue sky day and there are some marvellous big white fluffy clouds hanging about out there over the Downs. Perfect dragon spotting weather!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

surfs up going rusty

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Phred  |  June 19, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Enjoy your dragon spotting! We had the family of eles here this morning and i was telling all about your final morning elephant rush from Marula to the airport!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. debievans  |  June 19, 2011 at 10:00 pm

      how wonderful!! give them my love and tell them to come back for Robs visit!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Sally  |  June 19, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    That happens to me every time with the hire car! Book the weather for 3rd July for the South West. Happy UK dragonning.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. debievans  |  June 19, 2011 at 10:01 pm

      its here! must have been at the bottom of the case! just about to go out for a lovely evening walk over the Downs…only one thing missing…my dog!!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Instagram

#rolodogblog here’s looking at you #underthexmastree #dogsofinsta #jrtsofinstagram Fabulous to see sheep in the field. #treaclebolly #rolodogblog spurs an egret Serling trout lunch at #stgeorgespreshute #rolodogblog looking for children who would like to read his books #dogsofinstagram #jrtsofinstagram #canineauthor #dogs #rolodogblog up on the Downs this frosty morning 🐶🐾 Forgot to post this #cloudydubai love it 😍

