surfs up

June 15, 2011 at 2:26 pm 1 comment

Every year round about mid May I start to get grumpy. I don’t do heat very well despite 20 years living in the desert and that is probably why you will never find me here in July and August. I have given myself a few days off before I travel..mainly so I can pack calmly and leave things in order. However, this leads to thumb twiddling and twitchiness. This morning I had a leisurely walk on the beach and a dip in the sea (number 1 advantage of living in the Theme Park). I say ‘dip’ because yesterday I scared myself half to death by swimming beyond the big waves and there was hardly anyone around and the sea beyond the breakers was calm and beckoning. I quickly found myself out of my depth and realised there was a mighty undertow going on….put me in mind of a swan gracefully gliding over the water and furiously paddling underneath….but I was no swan and had a moment of inward panic. It only took me 5 minutes or so to surrender to the waves and get back to shore but my life flashed in front of me in those moments. So todays excursion was more of a thigh high paddle and I always enjoy watching the gorgeous surfer dudes…what do they do for a day job?! They seem to surf for a couple of hours early in the morning, don suits on the pavement and then drive off with their boards strapped to the roof. Fascinating to someone who doesn’t like to get their face wet (no wonder I don’t swim properly!)

What’s the thing I most enjoy when I get back to the green and pleasant? Walking along my rural town high street and saying ‘good morning’ to people and smiling a lot. ‘Giving way’ when I’m driving. Life’s little courtesies. I will spend a lot of time walking on the Downs and staring at the sky. I do love clouds..something I feel deprived of in the Middle East and why I am so overawed with the big sky of Africa. I crave the smell of summer rain. Well ok just a bit. There will be much wittering over the next few months…of that I have no doubt.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

nostalgia trip Back in Blighty….forgot to pack sunshine

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. P  |  June 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Have a wonderful time in UK, Debi. I hope to be not too far behind you on the long Summer trek to our green and pleasant homeland 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Debi Evans Author

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates


