tackling the garden

March 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm 2 comments

A few weeks ago I enquired of a ‘garden clearer’ how much he would want to clear a very overgrown patch in the front garden which has grown unattended for 15 years…he would also take the tops out of two very overgrown Leylandi trees and take it all away. He scratched his head and said £800. I thanked him politely said goodbye. A man knocked on the door and asked if I’d like the leylandi lopped – and he wanted £160 for the job. I can’t climb trees but have always fancied a go with the lethal looking strimmer lurking in the garage so paid up and was satisfied with the job done.

Today, being glorious and eerily quiet out there, I nervously plugged in the aforementioned strimmer and tested it out…blimey its heavy!! I set to work, clothed from head to foot, feeling a bit like Indian Jones cutting a path through dense jungle (well, berberis and other thorny things). 3 hours later, emerging from the newly created dell in the front garden I blinked in the sunlight. My arms and legs cut to ribbons under my clothing. Thorns are vicious! That was it – I’d done enough for the day. My arms were so tired I could barely lift a coffee cup! Only problem now is the pile of sawn off thorny trees is monstrous and blocking the drive – don’t think it will all fit in the green bin thoughtfully provided by Wiltshire Council for their fortnightly collection. Certainly won’t fit in my car for the tip. Perhaps a skip? Will sleep on it – figuratively speaking.

Meanwhile my sweet peas are about an inch high and outside in their trays to harden off. The recently planted laburnum to hide the back fence and house is in full leaf. Tomatoes, lettuce, strawberries and potatoes lovingly immersed in compost. Need to prepare the soil for beetroot and carrot seeds..but not today..can’t wait to start my runner beans off next month….oh how I love being back in England! The weather is set fair until Saturday and then it all falls apart!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

dragoning in Weymouth strimming part 2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna Gorsuch  |  March 28, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    I know someone who is a farmer’s son and he might well be able to help. He does a bit for me and takes it all away too! Lol – Jo. xx

    Reply
    • 2. debievans  |  March 29, 2012 at 10:58 am

      I sure need a man with a van!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Rolo and free author visits

Hello, my name is Debi Evans and I am best known for co-writing The Secret Society of Dragon Protectors fantasy adventure children's books. My new book The Secret Adventures of Rolo is out on 1st March 2014. Find out more about the new book and also how to arrange a free primary school visit!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

