World Book Day 1st March 2012

February 29, 2012 at 11:05 pm 2 comments

Taken during a visit to Dubai92 radio station with Catboy and Geordie Bird last year

World Book Day has been celebrated since 1995 and I am pleased to be busy with some Wiltshire school visits to promote reading and hopefully inspire some creative writing via The Secret Society of Dragon Protectors books which I have co-written. Last week Urchfont Primary School; today St Edmunds, Calne and tomorrow Derry Hill Primary School. I enjoy the Key Stage 2 visits probably more than the actual writing….children at this age have boundless enthusiasm and many questions….I have become quite a dragon expert (with their help, and I defer to John MacPherson’s superior knowledge on the subject!) I have visited many schools on World Book Day over the years and one of the best scenes I have witnessed is a DEAR (Drop Everything and Read) where the whole school, pupils and teachers alike literally do that…even if they are on the sports field or playground.

Entry filed under: dragon protecting. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Boondoggle in Bradford on Avon Spring has surely sprung

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sophie mackinnon  |  March 1, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Hi debi I’m Sophie I’m in saint Edmunds school in calne I just wanted to say that my mum bought me your first book a dragons tale after me telling her all about it I have tried to write my own story but it always goes wrong I really enjoyed meeting you and I am now a member on the dragon protector website I will try and find dragon hideouts as I’m going to newyork in a couple of months I hope you see this
    Love Sophie

    Reply
    • 2. debievans  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      Hi Sophie I’m so glad you enjoyed my visit – don’t give up on your writing! I really enjoyed coming into your school yesterday. Great that you’re going to be a dragon protector! Have a wonderful time in New York and hope you find a dragon to protect.
      Best regards
      Debi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Debi Evans

Debi Evans

Rolo and free author visits

Hello, my name is Debi Evans and I am best known for co-writing The Secret Society of Dragon Protectors fantasy adventure children's books. My new book The Secret Adventures of Rolo is out on 1st March 2014. Find out more about the new book and also how to arrange a free primary school visit!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Recent Posts

Top Posts & Pages

Past posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

